top of page
  • Writer's pictureMekenna McDonald

NEW TEACHER!!


Meet Mr. Mckinney. He is a new Musical Arts Teacher here at Seton. He also teaches music at the Primary and Intermediate buildings. Here at the high school he teaches both Junior High Band and High School Band. Working along side Mrs. Burket, they both have brought so much to the choir, with a combination of junior high and senior high students. He is bringing new things to this school in the short time that he has been here. One of the things that he has done already in write a new school fight song. It was first performed at the Homecoming Pep Rally. He and Mrs. Burket have opened up so many opportunities for the choir such as singing the National Anthem at the Fourth Street Fair. We asked him some questions and here was his response!


What brought you to Seton?

"Teaching at Seton has been an unexpected blessing. Six months ago, I was happily retired and had no plans to return to the classroom. Then, Seton reached out to me about the music position. I'm so glad God has given me this opportunity!"

What do you think you are going to bring to Seton?

"I want to bring excitement back to the music department so that students want to be a part of it and share their talents through performance."

What is the goal you have for this school year?

"My goals this school year are to improve the performance of our music ensembles and to increase awareness of our music department through performances at school and in the community."

What is your favorite thing about Seton so far?

"My favorite part of Seton is the friendliness and support of the students, staff, administrators, and families."

Do you have a funny memory or a story to tell so far?

"The funniest thing that's happened to me so far was when I was at the high school for my first staff meeting and the bell sounded. I didn't know what to make of it! I'd never heard a bell like that before! LOL"

What is a fun fact about yourself?

"In addition to being a music teacher and performer, I also race BMX bikes. I have won both district and state championships."




15 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page