top of page
  • Writer's pictureMekenna McDonald

NEW TEACHER !!!!

Updated: Sep 14, 2023



With the new school year starting we have gained some new teachers, one of them being Mrs. Burket! So far this year she has helped so much in bringing new ideas to Seton. She is helping with the Junior High and High school choir along with teaching 7th and 8th grade English. We asked Mrs. Burket some questions and these were her answers!


What brought you to Seton? "I taught in Catholic Schools in TX and NC. I had taken a break to home school my kids for three years. After we moved to Richmond, Father Sengole asked me if I would consider teaching at Seton. I taught fifth grade at Seton for two years before moving to the High School."

What do you think you are going to bring to Seton? "I would love to bring fun and a sense of community and ownership to students at Seton High School. I plan on doing this through sponsoring school events like dances, student council, and allowing for more opportunities for band and choir members to perform and compete."

What is the goal you have for this school year? "I would love to see smiles on the faces of my students. I want my students to truly love attending Seton High School and not feel like they are missing out on anything despite being a small school."

What is your favorite thing about Seton so far? "I love teaching choir! It was something I loved being involved in during my middle school and high school years. I love seeing the choir perform and watch their confidence in their singing grow!"

Do you have a funny memory or a story to tell so far? "It's been a whirlwind since I started teaching at SCHS, but my favorite memory so far is teaching the vocal warm up, Hey Jude, to my choir class! They didn't know what to expect, but as we built the song up from bass to tenor, soprano and finally added the melody, they got to hear the gorgeous harmony, and watching the smiles grow on their faces as they realized how great they sounded just made my heart smile. It still gives me chills every time we sing it!"

What is a fun fact about yourself? "I. Love. Earrings. Like seriously... I have over 100 pair and I can't stop collecting them. I have a pair with chickens wearing boots, Bluey, and even slices of toast... It's a problem."





10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page